BSA Distinguished Alumni Award

BSA Winner
2019 winner Dr. Sherry L. Turner, center

A native Memphian, Dr. Sherry Turner '84 earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology and anthropology/ sociology from Rhodes, a master’s degree in developmental psychology from North Carolina State University, and a master’s degree in theological studies from Emory University. After earning a doctorate in educational psychology from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Turner was hired in 1990 by Mount Holyoke College, where she was a member of the faculty as well as an assistant dean and ombudsperson. 

In 2002, Turner joined the staff of Spelman College in Atlanta, where she held positions including assistant to the president and vice president for student affairs. She also was executive director and CEO of the Atlanta University Center Consortium, Incorporated, and in 2016, she was hired as the director of institutional success and support for UNCF’s Institute for Capacity Building in Atlanta. A developmental psychologist, Turner has been actively involved in teaching, writing, and research with focus on child psychology, adolescent sexuality, the psychology of women, the psychology of African American women, and intergroup dialogue. In February of 2019, Turner became vice president for strategic initiatives at Rhodes, where she will provide executive leadership in developing and implementing a strategic campus vision for diversity and equity.


Established in 1998, the Black Student Association's Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes those African-American alumni whose record of outstanding personal achievement and service to others has inspired Rhodes students and brought honor to their alma mater. The BSA Distinguished Alumni Award is presented at Alumni Convocation each year during Homecoming/Reunion Weekend.

Eligibility and Nominations
All alumni who were members of the BSA as students are eligible. Nominees for the BSA Distinguished Alumni Award are eligible and will be considered for the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award, the Young Alumnus/a Award, or the Distinguished Service Award as appropriate. Make your nomination today by filling out the online form on the front page.

BSA Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2018 Dr. Coby V. Smith ’68

2017 Dr. Sandra Waller Shelton ’76

2016  Aubrey Howard ’72

2015  Roblin J. Boxill '99

2014  Steven L. Becton '88

2013  Patricia Spears Jones '73

2012  Dr. Lorenzo Childress Jr. '68

2011  Dorothy Sanders Wells '82

2010  Virgil Starks, III ’85 (posthumous)

2009  Julian T. Bolton ’71

2008  Vicki Gilmore Palmer ’75

2007  Donald Duggan ’86

2006  Charles Holt ’89

2005  Ryan Mire ’93

2004  Patricia Howard ’70

Marcus Kimbrough ’90

2003  Johnny Moore ’88

2002  Julian T. Bolton ’71

2001  Jerome Franklin ’89

Russ Wigginton ’88

2000  Herman Morris ’73

1999  Anita Davis ’90

1998  Joyce Broffitt ’77