Young Alumni Award

headshot of a blonde woman dressed in black

Anna Laymon

As vice president of programs and planning at the America250 Foundation in Washington, D.C., Anna M. Laymon ’11 is spearheading the design and execution of programs nationwide in celebration of America’s 250th anniversary in 2026. Prior to joining the America250 Foundation, Laymon became the youngest female head of a federal agency when she was tapped to serve as executive director of the Women’s Suffrage Centennial Commission. In her roles, she has worked with organizations, governments, and stakeholders across the country to implement programs creating better communities.

Laymon holds a B.A. in international studies from Rhodes and credits her undergraduate coursework with formally introducing her to the discourse of women’s studies, helping her to develop critical skills, and changing the course of her life.


A young alum who has brought honor to Rhodes through extraordinary achievement in their profession and community is recognized with the Young Alumni of the Year Award. The award is presented during Homecoming/Reunion Weekend each October.

Eligibility and Nominations
All alumni who have not yet reached their 10th reunion are eligible for this award, and all Rhodes alumni may nominate deserving candidates. Nominations are invited from any Rhodes alumni, students, faculty, staff, parents or friends of the college. Make your nomination today by filling out the online form on the front page.

Young Alumni of the Year Award Recipients

2016 Chloe Hakim-Moore '16

2014 Dr. Katherine L. Jameson '05

2011 Pamela L. Casey '03

2010 Jane H. Wells ’03

2009 Joel B. Harris ’03

2008 Matthew K. Wilder ’02

2007 James H. Flowers ’00 

         Rachel Wright ’02

2006 Samuel Patrick Thompson ’03

2005 Amanda Grebe Tamburrino ’98

2004 Bryan F. Coker ’95