Pi Sigma Alpha National Honor Society

Pi Sigma Alpha is the national honor society for college students that stimulates scholarships, and intelligent interest in political science and government in the United States. Rhodes′s chapter—TAU DELTA—of Pi Sigma Alpha attains this goal by hosting various on-campus events and speakers. The national Pi Sigma Alpha organization, more broadly, sponsors programs and events of value to the profession and teaching of political science.

Pi Sigma Alpha is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS) and is designated as a "Specialized, Upper-Division" society. Because Pi Sigma Alpha is a member of the ACHS, the U.S. Office of Personnel Management allows its members to apply for federal government positions listed at a higher entry-level grade than non-member candidates. Members may apply for the Pi Sigma Alpha/ Howard Penniman Scholarships for Graduate Study in Political Science, scholarships for Washington Semester programs, and for Best Paper Awards. All ACHS honor society student members are also entitled to automatic tuition reductions for Washington internship programs run by the Washington Internship Institute, the Fund for American Students, and the Washington Center.

For more information about the Rhodes chapter of PSA—TAU DELTA—please contact the chapter advisor, Dr. Ali Masood, at masooda@rhodes.edu.

2019-2020 Inductees

Adding to a list of “firsts,” the 2019-2020 Inductees into Rhodes chapter of PSA – Tau Delta – were inducted during a virtual ceremony on Thursday, April 30, 2020. Presiding over the ceremony was Dr. Ali Masood as the new faculty advisor, and William (Alex) Schramkowski, Chapter President, Katherine Bryant, Vice President/Treasurer, and Shannon Tierney, Secretary.

Our newest inductees are Jessa E. Barmish ’20, Morgan C. Brown ’20, Benjamin D. Griffith ’20, Grant A. Hill ’21, Eileen Liu ’21, Matthew J. Mussalli ’21. Elizabeth G. Scott ’20, Nathaniel M. Siler ’21 and Chloe N. Tesch ’21

Congratulations on your outstanding achievements!

2018-2019 Inductees

Pi Sigma Alpha’s Tau Delta Chapter held an Induction/Recognition Banquet on April 9, 2019 to welcome in their newest members, and to recognize outgoing seniors for the time and service to the chapter. Special guests were former Members of Congress Claudia Tenney (R-NY) and Bob Clement (D-TN) who were visiting Rhodes as representatives of the Congress to Campus program.

Congratulations to Sophia G. Bradford ’19, Isabel E. Celata ’19, Carson A. Cox ’19, Jeanne L. Wilkinson ’19, Katherine N. Bryant ’20, Mary A. Carpenter ’20, Adam C. Cruthirds ’20, Roman J. Darker ’20, Matthew C. Diana ’20, William A. Schramkowski ’20, Shannon E. Tierney ’20

Congratulations on your outstanding achievements!

Pi Sigma Alpha Web site >>