Sexual Misconduct Prevention Working Group


The Rhodes Sexual Misconduct Working Group was charged with conducting a comprehensive review of the existing Rhodes Title IX policies, procedures and practices in order to identify strengths and areas for improvement. The SMWG researched best practices related to Title IX compliance and made recommendations to help guide and empower the Faculty/Staff Advisory Board and the Student Title IX Advisory Board as they carry out ongoing efforts to reduce the occurrence and impact of sexual misconduct on campus; to ensure that students, faculty, and staff have access to comprehensive prevention education; and to create an environment that values and promotes a culture of respect. The working group produced their final report and recommendations in March of 2020.

Sexual Misconduct Working Group Members

Vice President for Strategic InitiativesDr. Sherry Turner
Title IX CoordinatorTiffany Cox
Associate Dean of StudentsDr. Alicia Golston
Associate Dean of StudentsDr. Meredith Davis
Director, Campus SafetyIke Sloas
Director, Counseling CenterDr. Pam Detrie
Associate Director of Residence LifeKimberlee Small
Head Men’s Tennis Coach, AthleticsTyler Cempre
Director of New Student Programs & LeadershipIra Lawson
Student Health & Wellness CoordinatorOlivia Fowler
Director, Community StandardsChristine Fox
Director, Student Accessibility ServicesMelissa Butler
Professor of ChemistryDr. Darlene Loprete
Associate Professor of ChemistryDr. Larryn Peterson (Summer 2019)
Associate Professor of English/Search Program ChairDr. Judith Haas
RSGTony Eskridge ‘20
RSGJacob Fontaine ‘21
Student Title IX Advisory BoardGrace Small ‘22
Student Title IX Advisory BoardRebecca Risman ‘21
Culture of ConsentAbbey Bako ‘20
IFC CouncilRichard O'Neil III ‘20
Panhellenic CouncilJackie Paiz ‘20
NPHC Rep - FraternitiesD'on Coofer ‘20
NPHC Rep - SororitiesEmma Taylor ‘20
Student Athlete Advisory ChairMalika Rao ‘20
LGBTQ Working GroupAndie Caroline Dorn ‘20
  • Graduating seniors Taylor Ansel and Spencer Beckman were alumni members

Sexual Misconduct Working Group Committees

Impairment & Consent

College students frequently struggle to understand what consent actually means. Many students find it hard to determine when someone is incapacitated, and, therefore, incapable of giving consent. This committee examined the relationship between impairment and consent and offered recommendations for increasing awareness and changing behavior among students. The committee ensured that recommendations are culturally relevant and inclusive and able to be assessed empirically.

  • Tyler Cempre (Chair)
  • Abbey Bako
  • Tony Eskridge
  •  Richard O'Neil III
  • Catherine Owen
  • Malika Rao

Title IX Formal Resolution Process Improvements

What are best practices related to Title IX procedures? What does law require? Are alternate dispute resolution and restorative justice effective approaches to resolving Title IX cases? This committee reviewed all aspects of the Rhodes Title IX process from beginning to end and made recommendations for improvement. The committee also offered recommendations regarding the use of alternate dispute resolution and restorative justice at Rhodes. The committee ensured that recommendations are culturally relevant and inclusive and able to be assessed empirically.

  • Darlene Loprete (Chair)
  • Abbey Bako
  • Melissa Butler
  • Tyler Cempre
  • D'on Coofer  
  • Meredith Davis
  • Christine Fox
  • Alicia Golston
  • Judith Haas
  • Richard O'Neil III
  • Catherine Owen    
  • Rebecca Risman
  • Kimberlee Small
  • Emma Taylor

Strategies for Prevention, Education and Awareness

This committee identifed and recommended strategies for implementing and institutionalizing a comprehensive sexual misconduct prevention program on campus. Strategies included peer-based or other approaches to providing students with a comprehensive understanding of Title IX policy and procedures, resources available and reporting procedures. The committee ensured that recommendations are culturally relevant and inclusive and able to be assessed empirically.

  • Ira Lawson (Chair)
  • Abbey Bako
  • Pam Detrie     
  • Jacob Fontaine
  • Olivia Fowler
  • Darlene LoPrete
  • Jackie Paiz.         
  • Ike Sloas      
  • Beatrix Weil

Engaging the Campus Community

This committee considered strategies for engaging student organizations and other campus constituents in communicating a consistent message across various media throughout the year.

The committee ensured that recommendations are culturally relevant and inclusive and able to be assessed empirically.

  • Becca Risman (Chair)
  • Abbey Bako
  • Tony Eskridge
  • Olivia Fowler 
  • Richard O’Neil III
  • Jackie Paiz  
  • Ike Sloas 
  • Emma Taylor
  • Beatrix Weil