Awards in Political Science

Seidman Awards are named for Philip K. Seidman, a former trustee and benefactor of the college. The Senior Seidman Award is for the senior with the highest GPA within the major. The First Year Seidman Award is for the best first year student in an introductory Political Science course.

Senior Award:
2015: Brendan M. Tyler
2014: Landon R. Webber
2013: Maria L. Raffanti
2012: Mary Frances Dunlap
2011: Emily A. Sellers
2010: Peter F. Zanca
2009: Noah A. Pittman

First Year Award:
2015: Noah B. Rinehard
2014: Akvile Zakarauskaite
2013: Brendan M. Tyler
2012: Cameron M. McGarrah
2011: Matthew J. Washnock
2010: William A. McGriff
2009: Anne K. Harper

Abe Fortas graduated from Southwestern of Memphis, the former name of Rhodes College, in 1930 as a Political Science major. He went on to be an Associate Justice on the United States Supreme Court. The Abe Fortas Award for Excellence in Legal Studies is for an outstanding legal student.

2015: Corey M. Lipschutz, Elena R. Mosby
2014: William A. McGriff
2013: Louis M. Jehl
2012: Thomas M. Cull
2011: Carly J. Taylor
2010: Monica E. Gaudioso
2009: Noah A.Pittman, Stephanie B. Aughinbaugh

The Mike Cody award is named for Michael Cody, a distinguished alumnus and the former Attorney General of the state of Tennessee. He is a partner in the Burch, Porter, and Johnson law firm. The Mike Cody Award for excellence in Political Science is for an excellent senior Political Science major other than the winner of the Senior Seidman Award.

2015: Chandler B. Schneider
2014: Jacob A. Long
2013: Mary C. Sanders
2012: Daniel L. Henke
2011: Kashan K. Pathan
2010: William L. Smith
2009: Bradley T. Maginnins

The Charlie Cook Award is for a senior other than the winner of the Seidman and Mike Cody awards who shows excellence in Political Science studies. (Beginning with the Class of 2013.)

2015: Caroline E. Ponseti
2014: Guice Slawson (Chip)
2013: Sarah C. Delph 

The John W. Burgess Award was an award given out by the Tennessee Political Science Association to an outstanding Political Science major. The Burgess Award for excellence in research was for a senior other than the winner of the Seidman and Mike Cody awards who showed excellence in political research. (This award was replaced by the Charlie Cook Award with the Class of 2013.)

2012: Anne K. Harper
2009: Stephenie A. Johnson