Information for Students



The Political Science department offers five awards each year to outstanding students in Political Science. The First-Year Seidman Award is for an outstanding freshman in Political Science. The Senior Seidman Award is for an outstanding senior in Political Science. The Abe Fortas Award is for an excellent legal student. The Mike Cody Award is for excellence in the study of Political Science. The Charlier Cook Award (formerly the Burgess Award) is for excellence in Political Science studies.

Mock Trial

Mock Trial is an academic activity designed to challenge and educate those who are interested in law.

Pi Sigma Alpha

Pi Sigma Alpha is the national honor society for college students of political science.

Postgrad & Career

The Rhodes Department of Political Science can help open doors to careers and higher educational opportunities.

Public Affairs Internship

The Department runs its own internship program, which earns credit toward the major.

Tennessee Intercollegiate State Legislature

Team based competitions with other colleges and universities involving legislating, litigating, lobbying and more.

Student Research Projects

The Department of Political Science offers many research opportunities.

Study in Washington, D.C.

The Rhodes Department of Political Science offers its majors two different opportunities of study in Washington, DC.