National Mortar Board Fellowship Goes to Rhodes Chapter President


Publication Date: 5/15/2009

Noah Pittman ’09 has been named a national Mortar Board Fellowship recipient.  He is one of only 15 students receiving the award for Mortar Board members pursuing post-graduate degrees. Selection is based on academic record, recommendations, goals and objectives, need and commitment to the organization.

A political science major from Collierville, Tenn., Pittman will attend the University of Arkansas to pursue a M.Ed. degree in higher education leadership.

Mortar Board is a national honor society that recognizes college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. The Torch chapter was chartered at Rhodes in 1964, and Pittman served as president of the chapter for the Class of 2009.

He is the recipient of numerous Rhodes awards including the Yerger Hunt Clifton Scholarship for British Studies, the First-Year and Senior Seidman Awards in Political Science, and the Abe Fortas Award for Excellence in Legal Studies. In addition, he is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Omicron Delta Kappa, Pi Sigma Alpha, Phi Alpha Theta, and Eta Sigma Phi honor societies.