In Appreciation For All That You Do . . .


Publication Date: 5/12/2008

Rhodes will pay tribute to staff on May 14 with its annual Service Recognition Luncheon, and winners of the Outstanding Staff Awards will be announced. Staff members with 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, and 35 years of service also will be honored at the program held in the Catherine Burrow Refectory. They are:

35 Years of Service
Jimmy McClain

25 Years of Service
Dorothy Brownyard
Jackie Carney
Mark Fleming
Jacqueline Sanders
Dave Wottle

20 Years of Service
Elizabeth Gates
Robert Strandburg

15 Years of Service
Lynn Barnett
Pat Fetters
Everett Scott
Scott Srnka

10 Years of Service
Larry Ahokas
Lucy Black
Sarah Brandon
Barbara Cockrill
Glen Davis
Debra Douglas
Robert Dove
Michelle Hammontree
David Hicks
Marilyn Hury
Nathaniel Maclin
Helen Odom

5 Years of Service
Eddie Avant
Dionne Chalmers
Jeff Cleanthes
Gene Payne
Stacy Pennington
Judy Pierce
Cynthia Polk-Johnson
Betty Jean Retic
Bud Richey
Lauren Sefton
Leon Suggs
Scott Wood


In addition, members of the Rhodes faculty and staff who are retiring by the end of the 2007-2008 academic year will be recognized at the Service Recognition Luncheon.  Join us in thanking the following individuals for their service to the college.

Lynne Blair is the Director of the Paul Barret, Jr. Library.  She has worked at Rhodes since August 1977.  She helped guide the transition from the Burrow Library to the Barret Library and helped move the library into the “computerized information age” with extensive online databases and journals.  She plans to return to the Midwest and travel across the country.

Carol Ekstrom is the Program Coordinator for the Rhodes Learning Corridor and an Instructor of Geology in the Department of Physics.  She has taught geology for the past 34 years and began serving in her new role as RLC program coordinator in 2006. According to Professor Ekstrom, the most satisfying part of her work at Rhodes has been introducing students to a new way of understanding their environment.  She and her husband, Professor Peter Ekstrom, former chair of the Anthropology and Sociology Department, plan to move to Lake Superior  this August, then travel to Argentina for three to six months.

Marilyn Hury is the Director of Meeman Center for Lifelong Learning.  She has worked at Rhodes for ten years and has helped expand programming and participation in Meeman programs. Hury is grateful for the outstanding cooperation of the Rhodes faculty and staff to make Meeman Center a one-of-a-kind lifelong learning experience. She plans to spend more time with her grandchildren and in her garden.

Judith Rutschman is the Associate Director for User Services.  She has worked at Rhodes for the past 22 years.  Ten years ago, Rutschman was the primary writer for the grant that put Rhodes on the Internet. She will always cherish the friendships she made working with students at the Computer Depot, supporting faculty in their efforts to enrich the learning experience through technology and providing support to staff in using technology to make their jobs more effective.  She plans to work on her “farm-to-fork” internet project promoting local sustainable agriculture, travel, garden and explore. 

James “Everett” Scott of Physical Plant retired in March.  He was the College’s Master Plummer for the last 15 years.  He plans to visit relatives in Florida.

Brenda Somes is the Departmental Assistant for the International Studies Department.  She has worked at Rhodes for the past 19 years.  To Somes, the most rewarding part of her work has been watching students grow while they are at Rhodes, and then getting updates from them as alumni.  “They are always doing some interesting thing,” she says. One of the biggest highlights came last summer when her son Josh ′96 married one of her former work-study students, Diedre Brady.  She plans to spend time with family, travel, volunteer and perfect the art of healthy cooking.


View staff recently recognized at Campus Life Awards.