Mary Miller Elected to Council on Undergraduate Research Office


Publication Date: 2/25/2008

Dr. Mary Miller, associate professor of biology at Rhodes, has been elected a Council on Undergraduate Research (CUR) Councilor. Founded in 1978, CUR is a national organization that promotes high-quality undergraduate student-faculty collaborative research and scholarship. CUR Councilors make up the organization’s governing body and are elected by the members of each of its seven disciplinary divisions and one at-large division.

As a Councilor, Miller will serve a 3-year term and be involved in the development of CUR at the divisional and organizational levels. CUR Councilors design and coordinate programs including workshops, meetings and information resources. Miller also will attend the annual business meeting where she will participate in helping shape the future of the organization and undergraduate research.

Miller, who has expertise in genetics, microbiology, and cell biology, holds a B.A. degree from the University of Tennessee and a Ph.D. from the University of Virginia.

She was awarded a CUR Summer Fellowship in 2002 and an Academic Research Enhancement Award from the National Cancer Institute of the National Institutes of Health in 2003. In 2006, she received a $282,673 grant from the National Science Foundation to support her research on the regulation of cell division, as she continues to integrate undergraduates in her research. Last year, she and Drs. Loretta Jackson-Hayes, Terry Hill and Darlene Loprete received a grant from the Merck/AAAS Undergraduate Science Research Program to support students working in their laboratories.

Miller currently is on sabbatical leave.