Sigma Pi Sigma


This photo captured the charter of Rhodes′ Sigma Pi Sigma chapter on 27 May 1963. From left to right: Charlie Brandon ′65, Prof. Harvey Hanson, Charlie Robertson ′65, Prof. Fritz Stauffer, Walter Roberts (founder of HAO and NCAR), Prof. Jack H. Taylor, Prof. Peyton N. Rhodes.

Rhodes College is proud to hold a charter and maintain a chapter of Sigma Pi Sigma, the national physics honor society. Physics students who meet high academic standards are invited to join the chapter, usually in their junior or senior year. Induction into the society is an honor that one carries for the rest of his or her life, and many of the chapter’s members have gone on to become leaders in the scientific community. One member of this group, Charlie Robertson (facing the camera), is the generous sponsor of Rhodes’ Jack H. Taylor Fellowship in Physics.