Graduates from 1961-1970


William L. Raine, III, 1961  
Harry L. Swinney, 1961, Sid Richardson Foundation Regents Chair, Department of Physics, Center for Nonlinear Dynamics, University of Texas at Austin, Austin, TX. Research interests include nonlinear dynamics, instabilities, pattern formation, chaos, and phase transitions. 
Joseph M. Ajello, 1962, Physicist at Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology.
W. Ray Fleming, 1962, Works in computer systems, particularly for the government - information systems, simulations for the space program, military simulations, web site development.
Jack D. Herbert, 1962, Professor of Biochemistry, Louisiana State University, Health Sciences Center, Baton Rouge, LA.
William G. Mankin, 1962, Retired from National Center of Atmospheric Research (NCAR) Boulder, CO.
Oliver B. Dickins, Jr., 1963, Attorney for Traveler′s Insurance.
Philip J. Green, 1963, Professor, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM.
John D. McCharen, 1963, Computer Consultant for Geographic Information Systems.
W. Ross McCluney, 1963, Principal Research Scientist at the Florida Solar Energy Center. He is the author of Introduction to Radiometry and Photometry (1994).
Laney R. Mills, 1963, Professor of Physics in the Department of Physics & Astronomy at the College of Charleston. Research interests include chaos, nonlinear systems, and climate modeling.
James A. Warden, 1963, Dr. Warden retired in June 2012 after 45 years of teaching physics at Emory & Henry College, VA.  Currently he continues to teach courses in general studies and science education at E&H, and offer astronomy classes occasionally for the older adults and Master Naturalists community programs.
E. Boyd Ellison, Jr., 1964, Retired.
Shannon L. Ball, 1965, Retired from E-Systems Inc.
William S. Boyd, Jr., 1965, Retired from Equifax, Inc. 
Charles W. Brandon, III, 1965, Retired.
Charles W. Robertson, Jr., 1965, Retired from DuPont. Currently fully employed in his own company NanoDrop Technologies, Inc. building spectrophotometers. 
Sara W. Hoffman, 1966, Professor of Physics at Santa Fe College.
Wayne E. Moore, 1966, Entrepreneur, Global Joint Ventures, Ltd.
Raymond T. Vaughn, Jr., 1966  
M. F. Wehling, 1966, Involved in the development of technology for the Air Force - the next generation of smart bombs.
James M. Durham, 1967, Senior Executive (SES) with the Department of Defense, Office of the Secretary of Defense.
Archibald C. Johnston, 1967, Professor and Director of Research at the Center for Earthquake Research and Information, The University of Memphis, Memphis, TN. His research has focused on the seismicity and seismotectonics of plate interiors, principally stable continental regions. Relating current earthquake activity to strain rate and developing methods to quantify the magnitudes of historical earthquakes are present research topics.
James M. McKnight, Jr., 1967, Photojournalist for the Associated Press.
Douglass E. Post, Jr., 1967, Los Alamos National Laboratory.
Martin E. Smithers, 1967, Optical Physicist for NASA/Marshall Space Flight Center.
Suzanne Donaldson, 1968, Financial Consultant for A. G. Edwards & Sons, Inc., Johnson City, TN.
Charles W. Shaw, 1968, Senior Flight Director with NASA at the Johnson Space Center, Houston, TX. 
John E. Weaver, 1968  
Kenneth M. Cushing, 1969, Works in the environment and energy division of Southern Research Institute, studies the pollution produced by the coal burned to produce electric power.
David F. Elmore, 1969, Research Engineer, National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR). Primary interest  is designing and building instrumentation used to measure solar magnetic fields.
Douglas S. Goodman, 1969, Senior Scientist for Corning Tropel Corporation. In May 2001, the Optical Society of America awarded him the Esther Hoffman Beller Medal for "outstanding contributions to optical science and engineering education."
Richard Raspet, 1969, Professor of Physics & Astronomy, University of Mississippi Principal Scientist, National Center for Physical Acoustics, University of Mississippi, University, MS.
McLaurin Smith, 1969, Physics teacher at Christian Brothers High School, Memphis, TN.
Stephen R. Walker, 1969, Attorney.
John T. Atkinson, 1970, Chairman, TradeOne Marketing.
R. Bradfield Kummer, 1970, Chief Technical Officer for Cogent Communications & Optical Transport.
Palmer M. Simpson, Jr., 1970, University Counsel for the University of California.