Chapter officers are elected annually by the resident members at the December meeting. The chapter Secretary-Treasurer carries the chief responsibility for maintaining records and communicating with the national office of the Phi Beta Kappa society.


Current officers

Ernest L. Gibson III, Membership Committee

Teresa Beckham Gramm, President-elect

Rhiannon Graybill, Membership Committee

Scott L. Newstok, Acting President

Susan Satterfield, Secretary-Treasurer

Jennifer Sciubba, Executive Committee


Past Presidents

2010–2013  Scott L. Newstok

2007–2010  Gail Streete
2004–2007  Michael Drompp
1997–2004  Stephen Wirls
1994–1997  Terri Lindquester
1991–1994  Joyce Jacobsen
1988–1991  Doug Hatfield
1987–1988  Marsha Walton
1986–1987  Milton Brown
1985–1986  Jim Vest
1984–1985  Marsha Walton
1982–1984  Rodney Grunes
1981–1982  Robert G. Patterson
1980–1981  Terry W. Hill
1979–1980  Darlene May
1978–1979  Emmett H. Anderson
1977–1978  Jim Vest
1976–1977  Marshall Jones
1975–1976  Julian T. Darlington
1974–1975  Richard Wood
1973–1974  Robert Llewellyn
1972–1973  Ralph Hon
1971–1972  Bernice W. White
1970–1971  Betsy Lunz
1969–1970  Doug Hatfield
1968–1969  James Roper
1967–1968  Jack Taylor
1966–1967  Peyton Nalle Rhodes
1965–1966  Milton Brown
1964–1965  Robert G. Patterson
1962–1964  Franklin Wright
1961–1962  Emmet H. Anderson
1960–1961  John H. Davis
1959–1960  Granville Davis
1958–1959  Jameson Jones
1957–1958  Myrtle Nash
1956–1957  Emily Shaw
1955–1956  Laura Robinson
1954–1955  David M. Amacker
1953–1954  A. P. Kelso
1952–1953  Charles E. Diehl
1951–1952  Gordon Southard
1950–1951  James L. A. Webb
1949–1950  R. P. Strickler


Past Secretary-Treasurers

2004–2010  Judith Haas
2000–2004  Terry W. Hill
1999–2000  Tim Huebner
1983–1999  Terry W. Hill
1978–1983  Bernice W. White
1961–1978  Gordon Southard
1949–1961  A. Theodore Johnson


Mark D. West, a 1989 Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Rhodes, is Dean of the University of Michigan Law School.

Join Us on Facebook

Social Lynx

Join us on Facebook »