Resident Members


Phi Beta Kappa chapters are granted to the Phi Beta Kappa members among the faculty and administration of the sheltering institution. These members, often called active or resident members of the chapter, are responsible for conducting chapter business. Each chapter elects its own officers.


Charter members of our chapter in 1949 included: David M. Amacker (Political Science); Henry J. Bassett (Latin); Vernon Perdue Davis (Music); A. Theodore Johnson (Dean of the College); Thomas M. Lowry, Jr. (History and Government); Peyton Nalle Rhodes (President of the College); Laura Robinson (Classical Languages); Gordon D. Southard (Romance Language); Robert P. Strickler (Greek); Richard B. Vowles (English); James I. A. Webb (Chemistry); and Benjamin A. Wooten (Physics). These in turn invited "foundation members": Charles E. Diehl, Abe Fortas ′30, A. P. Kelso, Harris Kirk ′97, Samuel Monk ′22, Marion MacQueen ′19, and Shields McIlwaine ′24 (James Roper, Southwestern at Memphis, 1948–1975).


Current resident members:

Rin Abernathy ′13, Memphis Center and Urban Studies

Tracy Adkisson ′95, Physical Plant

Geoffrey Bakewell, Greek & Roman Studies, Director of Search

Hannah Barker, History

Karyn S. Bondi ′03, Physics

J. Barron Boyd, Buckman Center

Tom Bremer, Religious Studies

Milton Brown, Religious Studies, Emeritus

Tom Bryant, Music

Courtney A. Collins ′05, Economics

Michael Drompp, History

Harmon Dunathan, former Dean of Academic Affairs

Ernest Gibson III, English

Teresa Beckham Gramm, Economics

Rhiannon Graybill, Religious Studies

Judith Haas, English

Jason Haberman, Psychology

Sue Hall, Information Technology Services

Doug Hatfield, History, Emeritus

Terry Hill, Biology

Brent Hoffmeister, Physics

Timothy Huebner, History

Matt Jabaily, Barret Library

Rachel Jabaily, Biology

Amy Jasperson, Political Science

Robert Llewellyn, Philosophy, Emeritus

Jeanne Lopiparo, Anthropology & Sociology

Geoffrey Maddox, Psychology

Michelle Mattson, German

Kenny Morrell, Greek & Roman Studies

Stephanie Moussalli, Commerce and Business

Mark Muesse, Religious Studies

Scott L. Newstok, English

Joel Parsons ′07, Clough-Hanson Gallery

Amy Risley, International Studies

Susan Satterfield, Greek & Roman Studies

Jennifer Sciubba, International Studies

Lauren Blalock Sefton ′03, Admission

Pat Shade, Philosophy

Brian Shaffer, English

David Sick, Greek & Roman Studies

Nicki Soulé ′93, Alumni Relations

Megan Andrews Starling ′02, Admission

Gail Streete, Religious Studies, Emerita

Elizabeth Thomas, Psychology

Wendy Trenthem ′93, Barret Library

Jim Vest, French, Emeritus

Marsha Walton, Psychology

Chris Wetzel, Psychology

Caki Wilkinson ′03, English

Stephen Wirls, Political Science


Bill Michaelcheck, a 1969 Rhodes graduate, is Chair of the Board of Trustees of Rhodes College.

Join Us on Facebook

Social Lynx

Join us on Facebook »