2014 News

Print ShareThis

Rhodes′ Phi Beta Kappa Chapter to Induct New Members

Publication Date: 4/14/2014



The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Gamma of Tennessee) is pleased to announce that the following students from the class of 2014 have been invited to join the Society as Members-in-Course:


Amanda Gayle Blagg-English
Margaret Ruth Blake-Biology
Noah Stephen Brown-Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
John Joseph Cerrito-English, Art
Ashley Tyler Compton-Anthropology & Sociology
Margaret Cupit-Chemistry
Paul Robert Domer-History
Margaret Elizabeth Donoghue-Urban Studies
Caroline Elbaum-Neuroscience
Maxwell Aaron Gray-English
Christopher Sloan Grubb-Chemistry, Music
Alyssa Delaine Harris-Computer Science, Economics & Mathematics
Joslyn Hebda-International Studies
Amy Nicole Hendricks-Greek & Roman Studies, English
June Mi Elisha Kang-Economics & International Studies
LeAnna Kent-Mathematics
Anna Kushnir-Biology
Stephen Eugene Leavelle-Biology
Sarah Michel LeRoy-Economics
Abby Suzanne Lewis-Psychology
Shelby Marie Lund-English
Mary Kathryn McDougal-Anthropology & Sociology
John Francis Menz-Biology
Roberta Jean Hotchkiss Moore-Environmental Science
Joseph E. Mroz-Psychology
Joshua Richard Muller-English
Parker Wallace Nelson-International Studies & History
Brenna Marie O’Sullivan-Psychology
Cara Diane Phillips-Political Economy
Jonathan N. Redman-Anthropology & Sociology
Samantha Elizabeth Smith-English
Matthew Austin Sommers-Neuroscience
Phoebe Helga Margaret Strom-History
Elizabeth R. “Betsy” Swann-Anthropology & Sociology
Jeremy Theriault-Economics
Landon Roch Webber-Political Science
Margaret Ellenora Wiggins-Psychology


The following members of the Class of 2014 accepted membership during their junior year: 

Elizabeth K. Bigus-Neuroscience
Joshua R. Cape-Economics & Mathematics
Mary E. Dubose-Anthropology & Sociology, Environmental Studies & Sciences
Rachel R. Elledge-Computer Science
Benjamin Evans-History
L. Jake Magness-Physics, Environmental Studies & Sciences
Margaret McGowan-English

Junior inductees from the Class of 2015 will be announced at the Awards Convocation on Friday, April 25.

All new members of Phi Beta Kappa will be inducted in a ceremony that will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, May 9 (the day of the Baccalaureate service), in Hardie Auditorium of Palmer Hall. The annual luncheon will follow the induction ceremony at approximately 12:30 p.m. in the Refectory. Dr. Ann Kingsolver, Rhodes College Phi Beta Kappa Class of 1982 and the third recipient of the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize, is the speaker.

Members of the Rhodes College community are invited to attend both events. The induction is free and open to the public; the luncheon costs $17 per person, and reservations are required. For reservations, please contact Dr. Susan Satterfield at satterfields@rhodes.edu.

Phi Beta Kappa is America’s oldest collegiate honor society. Founded in 1776, its campus chapters invite for induction the most outstanding liberal arts students at America’s leading colleges and universities. Fewer than one percent of U.S. college graduates are eligible. Membership is one of the highest academic honors a student can attain, and it stands as a life-long mark of excellence in the study of the liberal arts. The Society champions the liberal arts—the humanities, the social sciences, and the natural sciences—in higher education and in society at large.

The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa consistently is ranked among the best in the nation. The Gamma of Tennessee Chapter was established at Rhodes College on Dec. 5, 1949. It was the 143rd in the nation to be chartered and the third in the state of Tennessee; there are currently 286 chapters in the United States. In addition to recognizing outstanding students and awarding the college’s highest academic honor (the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize), the chapter sponsors lectures by distinguished visiting scholars.

To learn more about Rhodes College Phi Beta Kappa, visit: http://www.rhodes.edu/phibetakappa

Tags: Campus Life, Events, Honors, Students