2013 News

Print ShareThis

Students Recognize Outstanding Contributions To Rhodes Community At Campus Life Awards

Publication Date: 4/25/2013


At the annual Campus Life Awards ceremony on April 23 hosted by the Rhodes Student Government, members of the Rhodes community were recognized for their excellent level of commitment and passion in their respective areas of campus involvement. Congratulations to this year’s recipients!


Rhodes Student Government
Outstanding Staff Member-Jimmy Cox of Aramark
Outstanding Faculty Member-Dr. Kendra Hotz
Outstanding Administrator (s) Award-Regina Simmons and Jay Brooksby
The Jacob Abraham Award-Sallie Handley
Matthew Sean Jones Award-Sarah Bacot

Residence Life
Female RA of the Year-Abbey Judd
Male RA of the Year-Chad Bohls
Campus Safety Officer of the Year-Eddie Dowdy
Loretta Watkins Outstanding Housekeeper Award-Tamela Mull

Honor Societies
Mortar Board Sophomore Woman of the Year-Abbey Judd
Omicron Delta KappaSophomore Man of the Year-Chigozie Emelue
Mortar Board Faculty/Staff Award (presented posthumously)-Dr. Rosanna Cappellato

Kinney Program
Estelle R. Cone Award-Kelsie Cox
Vision Award-Jenelle Francis
Mountaintop Civic Engagement Award-Dorothy Svgdik

Kinney Service Awards for:
Environmental Programs-Alix Matthews and Mary DuBose
Hunger & Homelessness-Jenna Sullivan
Hospitals & Healthcare-Carol Elsakr
Special Services-Julia Scales
Animal Services-Haia Kim
The Arts-Hannah Lewellen
GLBT Advocacy-Leah Ford
Faith Based Services-Jess Wilder
Women’s Services-Jazlyn Phelps
Mentoring & Education-Sarah Delph

Kinney Leadership in Service Awards:
Catherine Carlile
Holly McGlown
Camilla Taufic
Allie Elozory
Meagan Keller-Fowler

Student Leadership
BSA Spirit Award-Shane Watson
Honor Council Outstanding Member Award-Chloé Smith
Social Regulations Council Outstanding Member of the Year-Oliver Haynes
Rhodes Activity Board Outstanding Member of the Year-Buckley Willis

Greek Organizations
NPHC Fraternity of the Year-Alpha Phi Alpha
NPHC Sorority of the Year-Alpha Kappa Alpha
NPHC Man of the Year- Chris Perkins of Alpha Phi Alpha
NPHC Woman of the Year-Omolola Ajayi of Sigma Gamma Rho
Sorority of the Year-Alpha Omicron Pi
Fraternity of the Year- Pi Kappa Alpha
Greek Woman of the Year-Caroline Ponseti of Kappa Delta
Greek Man of the Year- Rikeen Patel of Sigma Nu

Student Employment
Student Employee of the Year Award-Piper Carroll
Rhodes Student Associate of the Year Award-Darren Thomas
Supervisor of the Year Award-Kim Prestridge


At the Campus Life Awards, the following newly-elected student representatives were recognized. These students will play an important role in the next academic year.

President-elect of the Social Regulations Council- Alexa Cline
President-elect of the Honor Council- Alyssa Harris
President-elect of RAB- Julia Fawal
President-elect of Rhodes Student Government- Sallie Handley
President-elect of Rhodes Lecture Board-Anna Lockhart

The program concluded with the announcement by President William E. Troutt of the graduating seniors whose photos will be added to the Rhodes Hall of Fame which was established in 1931 and is housed on the second floor of Palmer Hall. Selection to the Hall of Fame is made confidentially by selected student leaders and based on individual merit, leadership in student activities, service to others, and overall contributions to the campus community. It is considered one of the highest honors that can come to a student. The following students who will be added to the Rhodes Hall of Fame:

Janelle Adams
Sarah Bacot
Catherine Carlile
Jasmine Gilstrap
Matt Jehl
Colleen Parrish
Darren Thomas

Tags: Campus Life, Faculty, Honors, President, Service, Staff, Students