2012 News

Print ShareThis

New Members of Phi Beta Kappa To Be Inducted

Publication Date: 4/23/2012








The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Gamma of Tennessee) is pleased to announce that the following students from the class of 2012 have been invited to join the Society as Members-in-Course:

Kelly Allison - Chemistry
Amy Aughinbaugh - Art
Jane Barrilleaux - History
Sharwil Bell - Biology
Theodore Boozalis - Biology
Jenna Brownfield - Psychology
Ryan Carroll - Mathematics
Zoë Clark - Biology
Cathryn Coleman - Biology and Chemistry
Jeremy Culver - English
Benjamin Curtis - Philosophy
Jeannie Scarlett D′Anna - Religious Studies
Erin Dressel - English
Mary Frances Dunlap - Political Science
Mae Gillespie - Neuroscience
Joseph Travis Hamm - Business and Commerce
Anne Harper - French and Political Science
Daniel Henke - Political Science
Andrew Howie - Greek and Roman Studies
Haley Johnson - Biology and Music
Carolyn Lamere - International Studies
Anna Magliolo - Neuroscience
Anna Meyerrose - International Studies
Jasper Page - Russian Studies
Chelsea Peters - Chemistry and Environmental Science
Alex Petraglia - Economics
Salar Rafieetary - Neuroscience
Carolina Sánchez-Hervás - International Studies
Rebecca Vandewalle - Greek and Roman Studies
Katherine West - International Studies and Spanish
Anne Wilson - Physics
Emily Woods - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Katherine Yewell - Economics and Mathematics
Niti Yogesh - Chemistry
Jing (Teresa) Zhou - Economics and Mathematics

The following members of the Class of 2012 accepted membership during their junior year:

Colin Antaya - History and Philosophy
Michelle Currie - Greek and Roman Studies
Regan Humphrey - Psychology
Stephanie Milazzo - Music and Physics

Junior inductees from the Class of 2013 will be announced at the Awards Convocation on Friday, April 27.

All new members of Phi Beta Kappa will be inducted in a ceremony that will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, May 11 (the day of the baccalaureate ceremony), in the Blount Auditorium of Buckman Hall. A musical contribution is planned for the ceremony.

The annual luncheon will follow the induction ceremony at approximately 12:15 p.m. in the McCallum Ballroom of the BCLC. Brian Thompson, Rhodes College Phi Beta Kappa Class of 1980 and the first recipient of the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize, is the speaker.

Members of the Rhodes College community are invited to attend both of these events. Those wishing to make luncheon reservations should contact Dr. Susan Satterfield (satterfields@rhodes.edu, Department of Greek and Roman Studies) for details.

Founded in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is America′s oldest and most prestigious honor society. It elects as its members only the most accomplished students of the country′s best colleges and universities. Fewer than one percent of U.S. college graduates are eligible. Membership is one of the highest academic honors a student can attain, and it stands as a life-long mark of excellence in the study of the liberal arts. 

The Gamma Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa was established at Rhodes College on December 5, 1949. The chapter was the 143rd in the nation to be chartered and the third in the state of Tennessee; there are currently 286 chapters in the United States. In addition to recognizing outstanding students and awarding the college’s highest academic honor (the Peyton Nalle Rhodes Prize), the chapter sponsors lectures by distinguished visiting scholars. To learn more about the Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa, please visit the website at www.rhodes.edu/phibetakappa.

Tags: Campus Life, Honors, Students


Post a Comment:

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

  • To Email: