2012 News

Print ShareThis

Thirty-Three New Members Inducted Into Phi Alpha Theta History Honor Society

Publication Date: 2/22/2012

The Alpha Epsilon Delta chapter of Phi Alpha Theta inducted 33 new members at its recent initiation ceremony. Phi Alpha Theta is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. Induction recognizes excellence in the study of history. The Alpha Epsilon Delta Chapter at Rhodes was founded in 1990.

Phi Alpha Theta president Jane Barrilleaux presided over the ceremony which included a keynote lecture by Steve Pike, Director of Museums for the Pink Palace Family of Museums, who spoke on the value of a liberal arts education in the “real world.” Pike was introduced by Phi Alpha Theta faculty advisor Tait Keller.

The new members are:

Leigh E. Allison
Sarah Holland Bacot
Nolan K. Bielinski
Cecil T. Brown II
Mary C. Bussey-Spencer
Emily Crain Collins
Sarah E. Doherty
Paul R. Domer
Ian J. Engdahl
Benjamin John Evans
Martha Ree Falls
Sarah E. Ferguson
Laura A. Fogarty
Christopher Robert Hanewald
Patrick Robert Harris
Annabeth H. Hayes
Logan Elizabeth Henrikson
Jaime Marie Hopkins
Lucy Moore Kellison
Danielle K. Lenz
Jiawen Li
Rui Li
Natalie R. Malouf
Mary Katherine Mullen
Greyson P. Neff
Lauren A. Peterson
Jeffrey M. Putnam, Jr.
Maria L. Raffanti
Jordan Bailey Redmon
Juan A. Roncal
Sarah E. Smith
Dorothy T. Svgdik
Ashley L. Tufton


Founded in 1848, Rhodes College is a private, coeducational college of liberal arts and sciences. It aspires to graduate students with a lifelong passion for learning, a compassion for others, and the ability to translate academic study and personal concern into effective leadership and action in their communities and the world.

Tags: Campus Life, Honors, Students


Post a Comment:

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.

  • To Email: