Rhodes Magazine

Print ShareThis

Campus News

  Annual Awards Presented at Rhodes Commencement

Congratulations to graduates Kelly Parry, Salar Rafieetary and Colin Antaya; Admission staff member Dorothy Brownyard; and alumnus Bruce Lindsey who received awards.

Dave Wottle Retires

The longtime Rhodes dean of admissions, and for the last year, special assistant to the president, is retiring and was honored by the college on May 3.

Professors Luther Ivory and Shadrack Nasong’o Win Clarence Day Awards

Religious Studies Professor Dr. Luther Ivory is the recipient of Rhodes College’s highest faculty honor for outstanding teaching presented April 27 at the college’s annual Awards Convocation.

Dr. Shadrack Nasong’o of the International Studies Department, currently out of the country, will be honored in the fall for outstanding research.

Rhodes Boasts Three New Fulbright Award Winners

Daniel Williford ’11 will travel to Morocco to teach. He joins Jake Groves ’12 and Richard Hurd ’08 as Fulbright student grantees for 2012-2013.

Five Members of the Class of 2012 Added to Rhodes Hall of Fame

Kelly Allison, Sharwil Bell, Carson Duffy, Jasper Page and Salar Rafieetary have been elected to the Rhodes Hall of Fame, considered one of the highest student honors. Since its inauguration in 1931, the Hall of Fame has recognized outstanding graduating seniors, based on their individual merit, leadership in student activities, service to others and overall contributions to the campus community.

Carson Duffy ’12 Named a Watson Fellow

Carson Duffy of Charlotte, NC, was awarded a prestigious fellowship from the Thomas J. Watson Foundation that will allow her to explore community building efforts in the post-conflict societies of Chile, India, Northern Ireland and South Africa.

Michael LaRosa Steps Down from Postgraduate Scholarship Post

Associate Professor of History Michael LaRosa is retiring as co-director of Rhodes’ Postgraduate Scholarship support program after serving in that capacity for more than 15 years. He is responsible for establishing the “Introduction to Postgraduate Scholarships” course at Rhodes, which helps prepare students the rigorous application process. Under his leadership, Rhodes has become more competitive nationally in terms the number of students who apply and receive postgraduate scholarships, including Rhodes Scholarships, Fulbright Grants. and Watson Fellowships. LaRosa, who was awarded a Fulbright grant in 1997, will continue to advise students who want to apply for postgraduate scholarships. He will also teach History courses at Rhodes related to Latin America. Dr. Judith Haas, assistant professor of English, will continue to serve as codirector the Postgraduate Scholarship program.

National Recognition for Student-Athlete Sharwil Bell

Biology major Sharwil Bell ’12 is one of 29 female athletes—across the three divisions—to be named in the NCAA’s most recent selection of scholarship winners. She has also been nominated for SCAC Woman-of-the-Year.