Department Announces 2011 Award Winners


The Department of History is proud to announce the winners of its four annual awards.  All awards were presented by Dean Michael Drompp at the College’s annual awards convocation on April 29.  Kimberly Harn ’11 received the John Henry Davis Award, given to the outstanding senior history major.  Daniel Williford ’11 won the Douglas Hatfield Award, given to a senior for distinguished undergraduate research in history.  Kristen Jones ’11 received the Phi Alpha Theta Award for her outstanding service to the history honor society.

The Department also bestowed the first annual First Year Award in History.  This new award is given to a first-year student who has done exceptional work in a history course, demonstrated commitment to the discipline of history, and achieved a record of overall academic excellence at the College.  Paul Domer ‘14, who took Prof. Robert Saxe’s United States in the Twentieth Century course in fall and Prof. Terem’s Remaking of the Twentieth Century Middle East in spring, received this award.  Domer will continue his studies in history during fall, when he takes Prof. LaRosa’s course on colonial Latin America.