Scholarships & Awards


Spencer Scholarship

Rhodes offers scholarships in Greek and Roman Studies to incoming students who have distinguished themselves in the study of Latin, ancient Greek, or the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. These scholarships are named after Dr. H. N. Spencer, a physician from St. Louis, who was a major benefactor of the college in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and avid supporter of the classics. The number of awards and the amounts may vary from year to year depending on the number of candidates and their potential. Awards in the last three years have ranged between $4,000 and $12,000. These scholarships are renewable for three years as long as recipients demonstrate continued academic achievement and major or minor in Greek and Roman Studies.

In identifying prospective students for these awards, the committee generally looks for students who have

  1. Taken Latin (or ancient Greek) for at least three years in high school and enrolled in AP courses where available;
  2. Participated in a Latin Club, the Junior Classical League, or other comparable organizations;
  3. Achieved distinction on the National Latin Examination;
  4. Expressed an interest in continuing their study of the ancient world in college.


Established by a bequest from Jane Hyde Scott, ′30, the Jeanne Scott Varnell Award in Classical Languages recognizes the accomplishments of an outstanding rising senior. The award provides a grant of $2500 to enable the recipient to engage in special academic activities during the summer before his or her senior year. Recent recipients include:

  • 1995: Amy Chifici
  • 1996: Jamie LuAnn Edrington
  • 1997: Jason Bishop
  • 1998: Amy Melissa Terry
  • 2000: David Blyth Weatherman
  • 2001: Rachel Wright
  • 2002: Veena Rajanna
  • 2003: Alyson White
  • 2004: Caroline Bishop
  • 2005: Andrew Willey
  • 2006: Caitlin Ulmer
  • 2007: Whitney Carter
  • 2008: Mackenzie Zalin
  • 2009: Allison Dove
  • 2010: Victoria Adcock
  • 2011: Andrew Howie
  • 2012: Mills McArthur
  • 2013: Amy Hendricks

The Spencer Prize in Greek, founded in memory of Mr. H. N. Spencer of Port Gibson, Mississippi, honors the student who has achieved the greatest mastery of Greek during his or her years of study at Rhodes. The most recent honorands are:

  • 1995: Jenny Lynn
  • 1996: David Stephen Luchin
  • 1997: Jamie LuAnn Edrington
  • 1998: Fredrica Elizabeth Carpenter
  • 1999: Micah Jonathan Luce
  • 2000: Constance Anne O′Bryan
  • 2001: Jason Andrew Hughes
  • 2002: Rachel Wright
  • 2003: Benjamin Groover
  • 2004: Sarah Montgomery
  • 2005: Caroline Bishop
  • 2006: Andrew Willey
  • 2007: Tulisha Jackman
  • 2008: Rachel Simpson
  • 2009: Mackenzie Zalin
  • 2010: Allison Dove
  • 2011: Michelle Currie
  • 2012: Michelle Currie
  • 2013: Mills McArthur