Pre-professional Advising & Programs

ShareThis
Translate

Pre-professional advising and programs at Rhodes provide mentoring for students while they earn credits required to apply to advanced programs. Students benefit from preparation in the following fields.

Pre-Engineering

Rhodes offers three pre-engineering programs: dual degree programs with Washington University (St. Louis) or CBU (Memphis) and a BS/MS degree program in biomedical engineering with the University of Tennessee and University of Memphis.

Contact:
Dr. Ann Viano
901-843-3912
viano@rhodes.edu

Pre-Law

Because Rhodes does not have a pre-law program, students considering careers in law can major in any subject. The Law School Aptitude Test should be taken in the summer preceding the senior year or October of the senior year. 

Contact:
Dr. Marcus Pohlmann
901-843-3843
pohlmann@rhodes.edu

Health Professions

Students interested in careers in clinical health professions include those intending to pursue a career in medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, physical therapy, nursing, physician assistant or any other clinical health sector.

Contact  for Health Professions Advising:
Dr. Alan Jaslow
901-843-3602
ajaslow@rhodes.edu

Clinical Psychology

Students interested in a clinical psychology career may receive advising from a member of the Psychology faculty.

Contact:
Dr. Anita Davis
901-843-3989
davisa@rhodes.edu

Pre-Ministry

Rhodes has an advisory pre-ministry program for students considering seminary or divinity school after graduation and for those who are exploring vocations in ministry- and church-related professions. 

Contact:
Dr. Steve Haynes
901-843-3583
haynes@rhodes.edu

Pre-Veterinary

In addition to relevant courses, veterinary programs require hands-on experience as an employee, volunteer, or intern (such as with Rhodes’ internship program).

Contact:
Dr. Alan Jaslow
901-843-3602
ajaslow@rhodes.edu

Education Professions

Rhodes offers a minor in education consisting of courses in education, psychology, and supporting fields. The College does not offer a teacher licensure or certification program but rather offers an education curriculum.

Contact:
Dr. Natalie Person 
901-843-3988
person@rhodes.edu