Dean of the Faculty


Dr. Milton Moreland

Dr. Milton Moreland, Interim Dean of the Faculty and Vice-President for Academic Affairs, is the chief academic officer of the college and the “go-to person” for all matters that affect student learning at Rhodes. He is charged with enhancing the quality of undergraduate education through promotion of excellence in teaching, the development of scholarship, and close student-faculty interactions. In addition, he works with academic department chairs and interdisciplinary program directors in addressing curricular, personnel, and budgetary matters.

Dr. Moreland, professor of Religious Studies, has served as the director of the Rhodes Institute, chair of the Archaeology Program, and director of the Memphis Center at Rhodes College. He was the 2012 recipient of the Jameson M. Jones Award for Outstanding Faculty Service.

Since 1993, he has served as a Senior Field Supervisor at the archaeological excavation in Sepphoris, Israel. Dr. Moreland has also excavated in Cyprus and led study tours in Greece, Turkey, and Jordan. Currently he also directs excavations at Native American and Ante-bellum archaeological sites in Tennessee. He is the editor and contributing author of two books on the sayings of Jesus, and Between Text and Artifact: Integrating Archaeology in Biblical Studies Teaching (SBL, 2004). His publications also include essays on Roman Period Galilee, The Acts of the Apostles, and ancient Jerusalem. He served as the Chair of the Archaeological Excavations and Discoveries section of the Society of Biblical Literature Annual Meeting. 

Associate Deans of Academic Affairs

Dr. Michelle Mattson
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs assists the Dean in determining, monitoring and projecting the faculty personnel profile and oversees annual evaluations of faculty and non-faculty persons who support the academic programs.

Dr. Brian Shaffer
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs assists the Dean in all matters related to tenure and promotion.

Dr. Anita Davis
Associate Dean Anita Davis serves as the Accreditation Liaison and is charged with overseeing the assessment of academic programs and the Foundations curriculum.  Dr. Davis has developed, and provides ongoing oversight of, the college′s teaching and scholarship mentoring programs and assists the Dean in the evaluation of probationary faculty.  Dr. Davis also assists the Dean with diversity matters in faculty recruitment, hiring, and retention.

Charlotte Bray
Administrative Assistant II

April Allen
Administrative Assistant II

Faculty Awards

The Jameson M. Jones Award for Outstanding Faculty Service: This award continues a practice of recognizing faculty service first started by the Charles E. Diehl Society at the 1988 Founder′s Day Convocation at Rhodes College.  The award received its name in 2005 in honor of Dr. Jameson M. Jones, a member of the Rhodes Class of 1936 who served as professor of moral philosophy and dean of the college from 1955 to 1971.

The award winner is a member of the Faculty who meets in an excellent fashion the service roles of all members of the Faculty; however, this person, by virtue of his or her actions and accomplishments, has worked beyond this expected level of service and demonstrates a commitment that exceeds what is expected.  The result of this work is reflected in the creation of a stronger community in which the development of students, the support of faculty and staff, and the overall aims of the College are more likely to be achieved.

The Clarence Day Awards for Outstanding Teaching and Research and/or Creative Activity. Each year through the generosity of Mr. Clarence Day, Rhodes presents two awards to members of the Faculty – one for outstanding teaching and one for outstanding research and/or creative activity.  These awards bring recognition for excellence amongst our colleagues, and they also provide substantial stipends to the recipients. Perhaps most importantly, both awards celebrate the ideal of the teacher-scholar in a liberal arts environment.

View the list of previous award winners.

Visit Rhodes