Phi Beta Kappa Inductees Announced


Publication Date: 4/24/2009

The Rhodes College Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa (Gamma of Tennessee) is pleased to announce that the following students from the class of 2009 have been invited to join the Society as Members-in-Course.

Emily Broocks, English
Jillian Carr, Economics and Math
Joel Chasan, Neuroscience
Jamie Glancy, Biology
Graham Gordon, History
Kimberly Green, Biology
Heather Houser, Economics and International Studies
Sallie Israel, Psychology
Daniel Jacobs, History
Ryan Jessee, Neuroscience
Stephenie Johnson, Political Science
Elizabeth Kalescky, French
Matthew Kernodle, Religious Studies
James Kingman, English
Jacob Kleiman, Spanish
Tyler Koestner, Chemistry
Bradley Maginnis, Political Science
Kristin Marchell, International Studies & Political Science
Amanda McElroy, Psychology
Anum Minhas, Biology & Chemistry
Lindsey O′Hare, Psychology
Marianne Olson, Biology
Andrew Roads, Biology
Rebekah Russ, Biology
Elizabeth Saba, International Studies
Evan Somers, Chemistry
Dustin Sump, Economics
Caroline Tahu, English
Rachel Touchstone, Art
Elizabeth Welch, Art
Kelly Williams, Spanish
Paul Yacoubian, Economics and Business
Mackenzie Zalin, Greek and Roman Studies

The following four other members of the class of 2009 accepted membership during their junior year: Whitney L. Cade (Psychology), Noah A. Pittman (Political Science), Jenna K. Smith (Physics), Stephanie J. Wilson (Psychology).

The chapter also is pleased to announce the invitation to Membership-in-Course of the following members of the class of 2010:

Monica E. Gaudioso, History
Elizabeth I. Parkinson, Chemistry
Allyson L. Pellissier, Economics and Mathematics

Election to Membership-in-Course in Phi Beta Kappa is based upon a record of excellence in the study of liberal subjects. The chapter congratulates all the members-elect for their exceptional academic accomplishments.

New members of Phi Beta Kappa will be inducted in a ceremony, which will be held at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, May 15 (the day of the baccalaureate ceremony) in the Blount Auditorium of Buckman Hall.  A musical contribution is planned during the ceremony.

The annual luncheon will follow the induction ceremony at approximately 12:15 p.m. in the Rollow Dining Hall of the Burrow Refectory. Members of the Rhodes community are invited to attend both of these events.  Persons wishing to make luncheon reservations should contact Dr. Judith Haas at